* *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Oct 14, 2019, 17:06:34

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Conceded putt - matchplay etc.  (Read 7838 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Longshot

  • Trade Count: (+6)
  • Driver
  • *****
  • Posts: 14263
  • Thanks: 82
  • I threadjack, therefore I am.
Re: Conceded putt - matchplay etc.
« Reply #15 on: Mar 07, 2008, 12:16:49 »
Read TP's first post in this thread. It stated 'Hole' conceded. and he was referring to Singles matches.

You're reading my post out of context. TP was referring to an earlier post which mentioned the "putt" being conceded, not the hole.
Just because you're paranoid doesn't mean you don't have enemies

golf_bhoy

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: Conceded putt - matchplay etc.
« Reply #16 on: Mar 07, 2008, 12:26:40 »
Thread title is "conceded putt".  Scenario described is "conceded hole".   :blink:

I'm in the easily confused corner on a Friday ...

Offline Stu-Pid

  • Shortened to 67"
  • Trade Count: (+11)
  • Driver
  • *****
  • Posts: 15024
  • Thanks: 120
  • Current HC: 7
Re: Conceded putt - matchplay etc.
« Reply #17 on: Mar 07, 2008, 12:33:43 »
No; it's loss of hole for practicing during the play of a hole if your opponent is still in the hole,i.e. the hole has not been completed (Rule 7-2).

This is what I thought at first, but in a decision that I saw (can't remember where) it said that as soon as one side had putted out they had completed the hole, regardless of whether or not their opponent was still in play.  So they deemed it to be practicing after the hole had been completed.

Offline Foxholer

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • 4 Iron
  • ***
  • Posts: 2052
  • Thanks: 12
Re: Conceded putt - matchplay etc.
« Reply #18 on: Mar 07, 2008, 12:34:40 »
Thread title is "conceded putt".  Scenario described is "conceded hole".   :blink:

I'm in the easily confused corner on a Friday ...
It's called TP-itis!  Or TP Strikes Again!

Ross
Bag for this Month Week Today:

Tour FT3 Tour 8.5 Ozik Code 6 SX
Tour Exotics 15* Ozik TP7 S
Adams 17* Altus HB S
TM300 4-PW Rifle 6.0
Miura 52*,XDC 56*, Fatbox-ed 60* P-Grind
TP Mills Limited Edition (15/24) 33"

Winner Foxholer Benefit (MSG 2008 Summer Masters)

golf_bhoy

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: Conceded putt - matchplay etc.
« Reply #19 on: Mar 07, 2008, 12:37:36 »
One "side" ... was the decision for singles matchplay?  The Rules attempt to cover all situations, but sometimes a Decision is needed to highlight differences in how the Rules apply to different match formats.

Offline Stu-Pid

  • Shortened to 67"
  • Trade Count: (+11)
  • Driver
  • *****
  • Posts: 15024
  • Thanks: 120
  • Current HC: 7
Re: Conceded putt - matchplay etc.
« Reply #20 on: Mar 07, 2008, 12:50:10 »
One "side" ... was the decision for singles matchplay?  The Rules attempt to cover all situations, but sometimes a Decision is needed to highlight differences in how the Rules apply to different match formats.

Actually, I'm not sure.   ???

Wouldn't the same apply to both singles and pairs in this case though?  Haven't got time to trawl for a decision at the moment unfortunately.

golf_bhoy

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: Conceded putt - matchplay etc.
« Reply #21 on: Mar 07, 2008, 13:22:08 »
Can't see how it would apply in singles.  If you've putted out, and your opponent has still to do so, are you going to remove your ball from the hole then take another putt before he does?  I'd call that practice during the play of a hole.  And more than a bit rude.

Offline Tin Pot

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Driver
  • *****
  • Posts: 14166
  • Thanks: 62
Re: Conceded putt - matchplay etc.
« Reply #22 on: Mar 07, 2008, 13:57:43 »
Intersting points gentleman, personally I would never concede a putt if I wasn't also conceding the hole.  "It ain't over, 'til it's over" - R.Balboa


This appears to cover it:

7.2/1 When is play of a hole completed by a player so that he may practice as permitted in Rule 7-2?

Match play: Single When he has holed out, his next stroke has been conceded, or the hole has been conceded by either player.

Four-ball When both he and his partner have holed out, their next strokes have been conceded or either side has conceded the hole.
Handicap 13.2
WITB
2013 : f**k all
2012 : 1 English Breakfast
2011 : £65 +1 Salmon +1 Turkey
2010 : £227.50 + 1 Round at Celtic Manor, Montgomery
2009 : £53
2008 : £234.53 & two bottles of wine
2007 :  £132.17 & 1 Turkey
Winner Bank Fourball 2011
Winner of the 2008 Medal Order of Merit

Offline Stu-Pid

  • Shortened to 67"
  • Trade Count: (+11)
  • Driver
  • *****
  • Posts: 15024
  • Thanks: 120
  • Current HC: 7
Re: Conceded putt - matchplay etc.
« Reply #23 on: Mar 07, 2008, 14:02:54 »
7.2/1 When is play of a hole completed by a player so that he may practice as permitted in Rule 7-2?

Match play: Single When he has holed out, his next stroke has been conceded, or the hole has been conceded by either player.

Four-ball When both he and his partner have holed out, their next strokes have been conceded or either side has conceded the hole.

Cheers TP.

So you can putt out even if the putt is conceeded and your opponent still has a putt for the win/ half, it's just not good ettiquette.  Interesting.

golf_bhoy

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: Conceded putt - matchplay etc.
« Reply #24 on: Mar 07, 2008, 14:04:37 »
Knowing when to concede can be very important in 4BBB.  I've known 20'+ putts conceded for par if it stops the opponent's partner getting a read on a line.

But tactics are for another thread ...

Offline Tin Pot

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Driver
  • *****
  • Posts: 14166
  • Thanks: 62
Re: Conceded putt - matchplay etc.
« Reply #25 on: Mar 07, 2008, 14:37:15 »
Knowing when to concede can be very important in 4BBB.  I've known 20'+ putts conceded for par if it stops the opponent's partner getting a read on a line.

But tactics are for another thread ...


Mmm, I will keep my mouth shut as this is a public forum, but let's just say I have first hand experience of 4BBB 'tactics'  >:(

A gentleman would never stoop so low.
Handicap 13.2
WITB
2013 : f**k all
2012 : 1 English Breakfast
2011 : £65 +1 Salmon +1 Turkey
2010 : £227.50 + 1 Round at Celtic Manor, Montgomery
2009 : £53
2008 : £234.53 & two bottles of wine
2007 :  £132.17 & 1 Turkey
Winner Bank Fourball 2011
Winner of the 2008 Medal Order of Merit

Offline Longshot

  • Trade Count: (+6)
  • Driver
  • *****
  • Posts: 14263
  • Thanks: 82
  • I threadjack, therefore I am.
Re: Conceded putt - matchplay etc.
« Reply #26 on: Mar 07, 2008, 14:39:07 »
Mmm, I will keep my mouth shut as this is a public forum, but let's just say I have first hand experience of 4BBB 'tactics'  >:(

Oh dear  ::laugh: ::laugh:
Just because you're paranoid doesn't mean you don't have enemies

Offline MisterS3

  • Trade Count: (+16)
  • Driver
  • *****
  • Posts: 24071
  • Thanks: 73
Re: Conceded putt - matchplay etc.
« Reply #27 on: Mar 07, 2008, 14:40:30 »
Mmm, I will keep my mouth shut as this is a public forum, but let's just say I have first hand experience of 4BBB 'tactics'  >:(

A gentleman would never stoop so low.

You should play with some of the guys i learned to play matchplay with. Some are on here. :D
It's all part of the game and i enjoy it now that i'm aware of it.
Bit like trash talking in basketball.
All good fun :D

Season 1 24.1 -> 16.8 1 medal
Season 2 16.8 -> 14.1 2 medals
Season 3 14.1 -> 12.5 Lanark Open
Season 4 12.5-12.6-12.3 2nd Bruce Sharp Trophy
Season 5 12.3-12.5 'Wasted Year'
Season 6 12.5- 
Cawder Golf Club

golf_bhoy

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: Conceded putt - matchplay etc.
« Reply #28 on: Mar 07, 2008, 14:42:20 »
You wouldn't be happy to have a 20' putt conceded to you?  Or was it another "tactic" that upset you?  Go on, start another thread, please ...

Offline Stu-Pid

  • Shortened to 67"
  • Trade Count: (+11)
  • Driver
  • *****
  • Posts: 15024
  • Thanks: 120
  • Current HC: 7
Re: Conceded putt - matchplay etc.
« Reply #29 on: Mar 07, 2008, 14:47:17 »
Mmm, I will keep my mouth shut as this is a public forum, but let's just say I have first hand experience of 4BBB 'tactics'  >:(

A gentleman would never stoop so low.

There's a big difference between tactics and gamesmanship.  Conceeding a 6 footer for par to not give the partner a read on their 10 footer for birdie is a tactic, and a sensible one.  Deliberately standing with your shadow just in eye sight and then moving as they putt is gamesmanship.

Tactics are fine (and advisable), whereas I'm definitely not a fan of gamesmanship and would agree that it's very ungentlemanly.

 

Recent