* *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Apr 25, 2019, 00:48:09

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: 2 unusual rules situations  (Read 1351 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Keve

  • Trade Count: (+12)
  • Hybrid / 5 Wood
  • ****
  • Posts: 6549
  • Thanks: 32
2 unusual rules situations
« on: May 02, 2016, 11:12:28 »
I had 2 unusual rules situations over the weekend the first one was 100% my fault.

In a matchplay tie after lipping out a 20 foot putt my opponent picked up and threw my ball back
to me and in a moment of complete brain fart I had a practise putt not realising he was stroking
and still had a 4 foot putt for the half, he was quite happy to accept a consession for the half but I'm thinking
now it should have been loss of hole. I won easily so wouldn't affect the result.

And yesterday in a doubles team match on our stroke index 15 1st hole we conceded a putt for a 4 and the other guy who had 3 foot a putt for a 3 picked up his ball, we questioned why and he said his partner was in for 4 net 3, he was only getting 2 shots, apparently the board at the tee said index 1, the 5 must have fallen off. We did the gentlemanly thing and let his replace his ball but what would happen if we hadn't?

Offline Colin L

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Gap Wedge
  • *
  • Posts: 140
  • Thanks: 2
Re: 2 unusual rules situations
« Reply #1 on: May 02, 2016, 13:24:46 »
1.  Since your opponent had conceded your next stroke, you had completed the hole and were allowed that practice putt.  Inadvertently a bit rude, maybe, but within the Rules.   See Decision 7-2/1  http://www.usga.org/rules/rules-and-decisions.html#!decision-07,d7-2-1

2. In a situation like this, where a player has lifted his ball mistakenly thinking he is out of the hole, the gentlemanly thing is not that you allow him to replace and carry on - he is entitled to do that -   but that you choose to ignore, as in match play you can, that he has breached  Rule 18-2 for moving his ball and incurred a 1 stroke penalty.  You could, of course, have drawn the breach to his attention in which case the penalty would have to be applied.
« Last Edit: May 02, 2016, 13:28:33 by Colin L »

Offline Dick in Shorts

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • 4 Iron
  • ***
  • Posts: 2769
  • Thanks: 5
  • Inverurie GC, Moray GC
Re: 2 unusual rules situations
« Reply #2 on: May 02, 2016, 13:47:15 »
I knew a rules official who said that she never 'called' rules infringements on opponents in matchplay.

I tend to follow the same proinciple - but would often tell my opponent after that he should be careful in future.

Of course - you can't agree to play outside of the rules - but you can certainly ignore transgressions.

I might have advised my opponents in situation two that the card is the 'ruling' for stroke indices - not the boards on the tee
:ping: G400 SFT 12 deg driver
:ping: G400 SFT  5 wood
:ping: G400  4(22 deg) & 5(26) deg) Hybrids
:wilson: Staff D300 6 - PW
:titleist: SM6 50/54/58 deg
:scottycameron: Futura 5S
:titleist: DT Trusoft

2018 Results:2nd NE Alliance class 2 OOM; 1st Inverurie Seniors Open; Inverurie Seniors Handicap Champion - retained title; Inverurie seniors outing winner - defended title
2019 Results:3rd NE Alliance class 2 OOM;
Prize Money: 2010=£276  2011=£406 +2 bottles Malt Whisky 
 2012=£351 2013=£95 2014=£240 2015=£225 2016=£475
2017=£368 2018= £767 2019=£175
CONGU Handicap 2019: 11.6>11.7>11.3>11.4

Offline Keve

  • Trade Count: (+12)
  • Hybrid / 5 Wood
  • ****
  • Posts: 6549
  • Thanks: 32
2 unusual rules situations
« Reply #3 on: May 02, 2016, 20:48:24 »
I'm glad I was okay in the first one although a bit of a dick for doing it.
In the 2nd case it was the right thing to do and would've given the club a bad name. My partner was the greens convenor and was more than a little embarrassed especially as I noticed our index 17 was missing it's 1. I'm sure they'll be fixed pronto.

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk