* *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Mar 20, 2019, 05:30:22

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Quick rule check  (Read 4122 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Scott W

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • 4 Iron
  • ***
  • Posts: 2457
  • Thanks: 22
Quick rule check
« on: Aug 15, 2016, 12:59:56 »
On the 3rd yesterday in the medal one of my PP hit his drive left into trees/long grass...so hit a provisional. The provisional went on same line as my shot down the left just in the rough.

After much searching by all 3 of us we located the first ball so I went back to play my shot. Stood over the ball, hit a decent wedge just long. Walked forward 10 yards to pick up his provisional and realised I had hit his provisional and that the ball I had just walked to was mine.

I had stupidly not looked closely, mainly because I hit 5 iron off tee and PP hit 3 wood so had subconsciously assumed mine must be shorted of the two  :suicide:

I then played the correct ball, made 5 and gave myself a 2 shot penalty for playing wrong ball...which I assume is correct despite the fact (a) it was a provisional and not in play and (b) corrected it before next shot
Titleist 915 D3 Aldila Rogue 60 Silver
Ping G Series 3 wood in stock stiff
Taylormade Rescue 11 FCT 18 degree Aldila RIP 65/R
Titleist 916H 4 hybrid
Ping i 5-PW Dynamic Gold S300
Cleveland Rotex 2.0 CB 50°
Cleveland Rotex 2.0 56°
Cleveland Rotex 2.0 60°
Scotty Cameron Squareback No 2

www.tyrrellswoodgolfclub.com   Current H'cap 17.8

Offline Stu-Pid

  • Shortened to 67"
  • Trade Count: (+11)
  • Driver
  • *****
  • Posts: 15024
  • Thanks: 120
  • Current HC: 7
Re: Quick rule check
« Reply #1 on: Aug 15, 2016, 13:35:37 »
Yep, you did everything correctly. 

If the ball that you hit would have been the ball that was in play for your playing partner then you would also have had to replace his ball in the correct position (a substituted ball is also acceptable), and obviously if you didn't know whose ball you had played then it is best practice to replace it in case it is an errant shot from another hole.

Offline Dick in Shorts

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • 4 Iron
  • ***
  • Posts: 2738
  • Thanks: 5
  • Inverurie GC, Moray GC
Re: Quick rule check
« Reply #2 on: Aug 15, 2016, 13:36:41 »
Pretty sure you were correct

Any ball is a wrong ball if it isn't the one you have in play

Any strokes with a wrong ball are not counted

I'm sure Blofeld or somebody will be along to confirm - or correct me

:ping: G400 SFT 12 deg driver
:ping: G400 SFT  5 wood
:ping: G400  4(22 deg) & 5(26) deg) Hybrids
:wilson: Staff D300 6 - PW
:titleist: SM6 50/54/58 deg
:scottycameron: Futura 5S
:callaway: Supersoft

2018 Results:2nd NE Alliance class 2 OOM; 1st Inverurie Seniors Open; Inverurie Seniors Handicap Champion - retained title; Inverurie seniors outing winner - defended title
Prize Money: 2010=£276  2011=£406 +2 bottles Malt Whisky 
 2012=£351 2013=£95 2014=£240 2015=£225 2016=£475
2017=£368 2018= £767 2019=£101
CONGU Handicap 2018: 12.6>12.7>10.3>11.6
Moray winter handicap:11.6>10.7>9.9>10.0>10.1>10.2
>10.3>10.4>10.5
Inverurie winter handicap:11.6>11.4>11.2>11.3>>11.1
>11.2>11.3>11.1>10.3>10.4
NE alliance handicap:12>11>10

Offline Scott W

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • 4 Iron
  • ***
  • Posts: 2457
  • Thanks: 22
Re: Quick rule check
« Reply #3 on: Aug 15, 2016, 13:50:39 »
Pretty sure you were correct

Any ball is a wrong ball if it isn't the one you have in play

Any strokes with a wrong ball are not counted

I'm sure Blofeld or somebody will be along to confirm - or correct me

Cheers, think I found the rule 15-3 but always good to check
Titleist 915 D3 Aldila Rogue 60 Silver
Ping G Series 3 wood in stock stiff
Taylormade Rescue 11 FCT 18 degree Aldila RIP 65/R
Titleist 916H 4 hybrid
Ping i 5-PW Dynamic Gold S300
Cleveland Rotex 2.0 CB 50°
Cleveland Rotex 2.0 56°
Cleveland Rotex 2.0 60°
Scotty Cameron Squareback No 2

www.tyrrellswoodgolfclub.com   Current H'cap 17.8

Offline 3puttwizard

  • Administrator
  • Trade Count: (+24)
  • Driver
  • *****
  • Posts: 25185
  • Thanks: 112
Re: Quick rule check
« Reply #4 on: Aug 15, 2016, 15:04:03 »
I had stupidly not looked closely

Therein lies the problem  :picard:

Mark your ball in a way that it couldn't be anyone elses..
2019: 9.3

M.6 10.5 Speeder 757 TS
M2 3HL Hzrdus Black
JPX 900 Forged 4-PW KBS X
Cally 47/52 wedges
SM6 58 M Grind
Odyessy O Works Red #1
TP5x

Offline Stu-Pid

  • Shortened to 67"
  • Trade Count: (+11)
  • Driver
  • *****
  • Posts: 15024
  • Thanks: 120
  • Current HC: 7
Re: Quick rule check
« Reply #5 on: Aug 15, 2016, 15:11:58 »
Therein lies the problem  :picard:

Mark your ball in a way that it couldn't be anyone elses..

There speaks a man who has played from the wrong fairway more than once or twice in his life...

Offline 3puttwizard

  • Administrator
  • Trade Count: (+24)
  • Driver
  • *****
  • Posts: 25185
  • Thanks: 112
Re: Quick rule check
« Reply #6 on: Aug 15, 2016, 15:21:30 »
 :chuckle:
2019: 9.3

M.6 10.5 Speeder 757 TS
M2 3HL Hzrdus Black
JPX 900 Forged 4-PW KBS X
Cally 47/52 wedges
SM6 58 M Grind
Odyessy O Works Red #1
TP5x

Offline Scott W

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • 4 Iron
  • ***
  • Posts: 2457
  • Thanks: 22
Re: Quick rule check
« Reply #7 on: Aug 15, 2016, 17:07:30 »
Therein lies the problem  :picard:

Mark your ball in a way that it couldn't be anyone elses..

I do mark my ball uniquely, three royal blue dots above number on both sides ... just switched off...doh
Titleist 915 D3 Aldila Rogue 60 Silver
Ping G Series 3 wood in stock stiff
Taylormade Rescue 11 FCT 18 degree Aldila RIP 65/R
Titleist 916H 4 hybrid
Ping i 5-PW Dynamic Gold S300
Cleveland Rotex 2.0 CB 50°
Cleveland Rotex 2.0 56°
Cleveland Rotex 2.0 60°
Scotty Cameron Squareback No 2

www.tyrrellswoodgolfclub.com   Current H'cap 17.8

Offline Colin L

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Gap Wedge
  • *
  • Posts: 140
  • Thanks: 2
Re: Quick rule check
« Reply #8 on: Aug 18, 2016, 11:39:10 »
I'm not sure that this really needs confirmation, but Dick mentioned it.   Scott had it exactly right as has been said: abandon the wrong ball, play the correct ball with a 2 stroke penalty and none of the strokes at the wrong ball to be counted.

As an aside and not aimed at 3puttwizard in particular, it always amazes me that anyone sees marking a ball with 2 or three dots - red, blue or whatever - as unique. 

Offline Dick in Shorts

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • 4 Iron
  • ***
  • Posts: 2738
  • Thanks: 5
  • Inverurie GC, Moray GC
Re: Quick rule check
« Reply #9 on: Aug 18, 2016, 11:52:16 »
At least some players mark their balls

I've played with many (and not novices) who happily show me their Titleist without a single mark on them on the first tee.

I wonder if they really think they have the only one that's ever been played/lost on the course  :picard:

I've given up pointing out that they will be hard pressed to be able to identify a ball as theirs if it only has manufacturer's markings on it
:ping: G400 SFT 12 deg driver
:ping: G400 SFT  5 wood
:ping: G400  4(22 deg) & 5(26) deg) Hybrids
:wilson: Staff D300 6 - PW
:titleist: SM6 50/54/58 deg
:scottycameron: Futura 5S
:callaway: Supersoft

2018 Results:2nd NE Alliance class 2 OOM; 1st Inverurie Seniors Open; Inverurie Seniors Handicap Champion - retained title; Inverurie seniors outing winner - defended title
Prize Money: 2010=£276  2011=£406 +2 bottles Malt Whisky 
 2012=£351 2013=£95 2014=£240 2015=£225 2016=£475
2017=£368 2018= £767 2019=£101
CONGU Handicap 2018: 12.6>12.7>10.3>11.6
Moray winter handicap:11.6>10.7>9.9>10.0>10.1>10.2
>10.3>10.4>10.5
Inverurie winter handicap:11.6>11.4>11.2>11.3>>11.1
>11.2>11.3>11.1>10.3>10.4
NE alliance handicap:12>11>10

Offline Scott W

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • 4 Iron
  • ***
  • Posts: 2457
  • Thanks: 22
Re: Quick rule check
« Reply #10 on: Aug 18, 2016, 12:49:45 »
As an aside and not aimed at 3puttwizard in particular, it always amazes me that anyone sees marking a ball with 2 or three dots - red, blue or whatever - as unique.

Interesting point, I dont think I have ever seen exactly same number, placement and colour of dots but may rethink and go for something more unique

I have one of those stamp things which is supposed to be a "scottie" dog but looks like a blue smear!
Titleist 915 D3 Aldila Rogue 60 Silver
Ping G Series 3 wood in stock stiff
Taylormade Rescue 11 FCT 18 degree Aldila RIP 65/R
Titleist 916H 4 hybrid
Ping i 5-PW Dynamic Gold S300
Cleveland Rotex 2.0 CB 50°
Cleveland Rotex 2.0 56°
Cleveland Rotex 2.0 60°
Scotty Cameron Squareback No 2

www.tyrrellswoodgolfclub.com   Current H'cap 17.8

Offline YOOFALLMAN

  • Trade Count: (+30)
  • 4 Iron
  • ***
  • Posts: 2784
  • Thanks: 13
Re: Quick rule check
« Reply #11 on: Aug 18, 2016, 13:34:27 »

As an aside and not aimed at 3puttwizard in particular, it always amazes me that anyone sees marking a ball with 2 or three dots - red, blue or whatever - as unique.

not unique.....but the balls are also numbered for a reason.....Christ, you'd be desperately unlucky to play with a guy ( or girl )  who mistakes his/her  ball for yours because :-
1. He/she  uses the same Brand
2. He/she has the same coloured Sharpie
3. He/she puts the dots on their ball in exactly the same place
4. He/she  uses the same number of ball as in #1 above..... :roulette:

...and if they claim that they've hit your ball as they are absolutely convinced its theirs because they claim to meet  all of the above.....boot them in the gonads as they're likely cheating ba.stards..... :ninja:


Offline Dick in Shorts

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • 4 Iron
  • ***
  • Posts: 2738
  • Thanks: 5
  • Inverurie GC, Moray GC
Re: Quick rule check
« Reply #12 on: Aug 18, 2016, 13:53:34 »
It's not really the person you're playing with that's likely to be the cause of non-identifcation

It's more likely to be another previously lost ball that is in the same area that a search is being made for a freshly unfound ball

Example - Fred pays with an unmarked ProV1 - numbered 1 (or2,3,or4) and hits his drive into the scrub/trees/long rough etc.

He then finds an unmarked Prov1 with the same number as his. You - whilst helping him look - also find an unmarked ProV1 with the same number.
Now - as niether ball can be identified as Fred's the only option he has is to go back to where he last oplayed under penalty of stroke and distance.

If he had put an F on his ball then no problem and he's saved himself two strokes - as well as a walk of shame  ;)
:ping: G400 SFT 12 deg driver
:ping: G400 SFT  5 wood
:ping: G400  4(22 deg) & 5(26) deg) Hybrids
:wilson: Staff D300 6 - PW
:titleist: SM6 50/54/58 deg
:scottycameron: Futura 5S
:callaway: Supersoft

2018 Results:2nd NE Alliance class 2 OOM; 1st Inverurie Seniors Open; Inverurie Seniors Handicap Champion - retained title; Inverurie seniors outing winner - defended title
Prize Money: 2010=£276  2011=£406 +2 bottles Malt Whisky 
 2012=£351 2013=£95 2014=£240 2015=£225 2016=£475
2017=£368 2018= £767 2019=£101
CONGU Handicap 2018: 12.6>12.7>10.3>11.6
Moray winter handicap:11.6>10.7>9.9>10.0>10.1>10.2
>10.3>10.4>10.5
Inverurie winter handicap:11.6>11.4>11.2>11.3>>11.1
>11.2>11.3>11.1>10.3>10.4
NE alliance handicap:12>11>10

Offline inoculator

  • Trade Count: (+6)
  • 3 Iron
  • ***
  • Posts: 3686
  • Thanks: 17
Re: Quick rule check
« Reply #13 on: Aug 18, 2016, 14:07:43 »
Surely that would depend on whether you agree "F" is a unique marker or not. Who's to say Frank from the group in front didn't lose his ball there?

:D
"Those who sacrifice liberty for security deserve neither"

Offline YOOFALLMAN

  • Trade Count: (+30)
  • 4 Iron
  • ***
  • Posts: 2784
  • Thanks: 13
Re: Quick rule check
« Reply #14 on: Aug 18, 2016, 14:11:23 »
Surely that would depend on whether you agree "F" is a unique marker or not. Who's to say Frank from the group in front didn't lose his ball there?

:D

..or Fuckwitt ??? :chuckle:

 

Recent