* *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Mar 20, 2019, 04:52:51

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Water hazard ruling.  (Read 705 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Keve

  • Trade Count: (+12)
  • Hybrid / 5 Wood
  • ****
  • Posts: 6549
  • Thanks: 32
Water hazard ruling.
« on: May 31, 2017, 14:47:57 »
Imagine you have a 200 yard carry over a water hazard, you can't tell if you've made it or not, can you hit a provisional ball from the point of entry, (which would be under penalty) incase your ball didn't make the carry to save a 400 yard round trip to go back?
« Last Edit: May 31, 2017, 14:59:08 by Keve »

Offline Stu-Pid

  • Shortened to 67"
  • Trade Count: (+11)
  • Driver
  • *****
  • Posts: 15024
  • Thanks: 120
  • Current HC: 7
Re: Water hazard ruling.
« Reply #1 on: May 31, 2017, 15:22:11 »
Normally your only option would be to walk up and look for the ball and then head back to take a drop if you can't find it, as provisional balls are not permitted for balls that may be lost in a water hazard. 

However, there is a local rule that can be put in place by the committee to cover holes such as the one that you described:

If a water hazard (including a lateral water hazard)is of such size and shape and/ or located in such a position that:
 
(i) it would be impracticable to determine whether the ball is in the hazard or to do so would unduly delay play, and
(ii) if the original ball is not found, it is known or virtually certain that it is in the water hazard,
 
the Committee may introduce a Local Rule permitting the play of a ball provisionally under 26-1. The ball is played provisionally under any of the applicable options under 26-1 or any applicable Local Rule. In such a case, if a ball is played provisionally and the original ball is in a water hazard, the player may play the original ball as it lies or continue with the ball played provisionally, but he may not proceed under 26-1 with regard to the original ball.


So this rule (if in place) would allow you to drop at your point of entry and play a provisional ball, which would then be discarded should your ball be found outside of the hazard.  You would also have the option of playing the ball as it lies inside the hazard (should you find it close to the edge), which would again make the provisional null and void.

Offline Keve

  • Trade Count: (+12)
  • Hybrid / 5 Wood
  • ****
  • Posts: 6549
  • Thanks: 32
Water hazard ruling.
« Reply #2 on: May 31, 2017, 18:43:59 »
Thanks for taking the time to answer so thoroughly. I'll speak to our committee and see if they can add it to the local rules.

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk


Offline YOOFALLMAN

  • Trade Count: (+30)
  • 4 Iron
  • ***
  • Posts: 2784
  • Thanks: 13
Re: Water hazard ruling.
« Reply #3 on: Jun 01, 2017, 09:17:25 »
Keve - maybe this is overly simplistic or it might even be plain daft.....but surely you can see a splash over a distance of 200 yards ?  :p  Or maybe come to think of it that its because  there's  a lot of mushy sh1te and stuff at the banking on the far side ?  :cry:

Offline Keve

  • Trade Count: (+12)
  • Hybrid / 5 Wood
  • ****
  • Posts: 6549
  • Thanks: 32
Re: Water hazard ruling.
« Reply #4 on: Jun 01, 2017, 13:38:19 »
Keve - maybe this is overly simplistic or it might even be plain daft.....but surely you can see a splash over a distance of 200 yards ?  :p  Or maybe come to think of it that its because  there's  a lot of mushy sh1te and stuff at the banking on the far side ?  :cry:
Marsh trees and bushes made it impossible to see the landing area.

 

Recent