* *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Jan 23, 2021, 23:28:07

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Another rules question.  (Read 1331 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Keve

  • Trade Count: (+12)
  • Hybrid / 5 Wood
  • ****
  • Posts: 6593
  • Thanks: 32
Another rules question.
« on: Apr 29, 2019, 17:52:27 »
My mate just asked me this one, it wasn't a serious match, just a couple of quid front back overall, but caused a bit of arguing in the bar afterwards. On the 2nd my mate had 4 his opponent 5. Front nine was halved. Coming off 16 still all square his opponent looked at the card and noticed he should've got a shot on the 2nd so declared he won the front 9 and was now 1 up. What's the ruling on this?

Offline inoculator

  • Trade Count: (+6)
  • 3 Iron
  • ***
  • Posts: 3736
  • Thanks: 17
Re: Another rules question.
« Reply #1 on: Apr 29, 2019, 20:56:43 »
Used to be the decision had to be resolved before teeing off at the next hole but that may have changed.

So in this instance I'd say the guy loses the hole and result stands.
"Those who sacrifice liberty for security deserve neither"

Offline Blofeld

  • Trade Count: (+35)
  • Driver
  • *****
  • Posts: 11405
  • Thanks: 61
  • Brett Vale G.C. Captain 2014 and 2020
Re: Another rules question.
« Reply #2 on: Apr 29, 2019, 20:58:16 »
It is the players responsibility to know how many shots he gets and when/where he gets them.

Once he'd teed off on the 3rd hole it was too late to make a claim.

As Ally says....result stands.


Callaway Rogue Driver 10.5* / Aldila Synergy 50 reg
Callaway Rogue 3-wood 15* / Aldila Synergy 60 reg
Callaway Rogue 5-wood 19* / Aldila Synergy 60 reg
Callaway Mavrik Heavenwood 20* / UST Helium 50 reg
Callaway Apex 4H 23* / Project X Catalyst 70 reg
Callaway Apex CF19 6-PW / TT Elevate 95 reg
Vega Alcor 50*, 54* & 58* / Shimada Wedge flex
Scotty Special Select Flowback 5

Offline Keve

  • Trade Count: (+12)
  • Hybrid / 5 Wood
  • ****
  • Posts: 6593
  • Thanks: 32
Re: Another rules question.
« Reply #3 on: Apr 29, 2019, 22:25:12 »
Is there a rule number/index that backs this up?

Offline Galway Stevie

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • 2 Iron
  • ***
  • Posts: 4493
  • Thanks: 23
Re: Another rules question.
« Reply #4 on: Apr 29, 2019, 23:17:38 »
Rule 3.2 c states that the result of a hole stands and then d seems to confuse it a bit
WITB

Callaway Maverick Max (Set 9 Neutral)
TM M4hl 3 woods/4woods 16.5*
Callaway UT 18*
Ping i 4-PW AWT 2.0 Reg
Ping Gorge 52* Reg
Ping Gorge 58* Reg
Whitlam Proto 33"/Odyssey Pro No7

Current Club. Greenore Golf Club HC: god only knows

Offline Blofeld

  • Trade Count: (+35)
  • Driver
  • *****
  • Posts: 11405
  • Thanks: 61
  • Brett Vale G.C. Captain 2014 and 2020
Re: Another rules question.
« Reply #5 on: Apr 30, 2019, 09:59:48 »
Rule 3.2 c states that the result of a hole stands and then d seems to confuse it a bit

shouldn't be any confusion Stevie.

3.2d relates to the communication about how many strokes have been taken or penalties incurred or the match score and what penalties apply if incorrect information is given....in the OP's case there was no misinformation.
Callaway Rogue Driver 10.5* / Aldila Synergy 50 reg
Callaway Rogue 3-wood 15* / Aldila Synergy 60 reg
Callaway Rogue 5-wood 19* / Aldila Synergy 60 reg
Callaway Mavrik Heavenwood 20* / UST Helium 50 reg
Callaway Apex 4H 23* / Project X Catalyst 70 reg
Callaway Apex CF19 6-PW / TT Elevate 95 reg
Vega Alcor 50*, 54* & 58* / Shimada Wedge flex
Scotty Special Select Flowback 5

Offline Galway Stevie

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • 2 Iron
  • ***
  • Posts: 4493
  • Thanks: 23
Re: Another rules question.
« Reply #6 on: Apr 30, 2019, 15:44:10 »
shouldn't be any confusion Stevie.

3.2d relates to the communication about how many strokes have been taken or penalties incurred or the match score and what penalties apply if incorrect information is given....in the OP's case there was no misinformation.

My poor foggy old brain at 11pm was having trouble processing. Otherwise seemed clear the result stood however  :hi:
WITB

Callaway Maverick Max (Set 9 Neutral)
TM M4hl 3 woods/4woods 16.5*
Callaway UT 18*
Ping i 4-PW AWT 2.0 Reg
Ping Gorge 52* Reg
Ping Gorge 58* Reg
Whitlam Proto 33"/Odyssey Pro No7

Current Club. Greenore Golf Club HC: god only knows

Offline Keve

  • Trade Count: (+12)
  • Hybrid / 5 Wood
  • ****
  • Posts: 6593
  • Thanks: 32
Re: Another rules question.
« Reply #7 on: Apr 30, 2019, 20:24:02 »
Cheers guys.

 

Recent