* *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Jan 26, 2021, 09:14:05

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Lockdown Rules Quiz  (Read 2701 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Cols_Ears

  • Trade Count: (+18)
  • 3 Iron
  • ***
  • Posts: 3544
  • Thanks: 20
  • WHS Index: 4.8
Lockdown Rules Quiz
« on: Apr 28, 2020, 14:52:39 »
The Pro at my new club is doing a rules quiz every few days. You have to email him the answers with a chance to win a playing lesson with him for each entry you get right.

Thought this might be interesting if I cut and paste the questions and answers on here for others who might be bored. They were fairly straightforward until today (rd 4) where I had to search the interpretations. I'll post the questions and then the answers the following day (until we catch him up and then it's 48h after) in case anyone is interested.

No prizes from me I'm afraid :clap:
« Last Edit: Apr 28, 2020, 14:55:25 by Cols_Ears »
:mizuno: ST200 10.5° with  Paderson Kinetixx Launch TP65+ D40
:mizuno: ST200 3TS (playing 16°) with Diamana BF (Blueboard) 70 Stiff
:srixon: ZU85 3h with an Accra TZ6 Hybrid M4 shaft
:ping: iBlades Green Dot 4-PW with Accra iSteel 115 Stiff +½"
:ping: Glide 2.0 Stealth Wedges 50°, 54° with KBS 610 125 S+ shafts +½"
:ping: Glide 3.0 58° Wedge with KBS 610 125 S+ shafts +½"
MannKrafted MA66 Tombstone neck custom putter
:bridgestone: Tour BXS

Offline Cols_Ears

  • Trade Count: (+18)
  • 3 Iron
  • ***
  • Posts: 3544
  • Thanks: 20
  • WHS Index: 4.8
Re: Lockdown Rules Quiz
« Reply #1 on: Apr 28, 2020, 14:54:03 »
Round 1

Question 1 - In stroke play, a player playing from the teeing area misses the ball completely. He pushes his tee farther into the ground and plays. What is the ruling?

A - The player gets two penalty strokes.

B - The player gets one penalty stroke.

C - There is no penalty.

 

Question 2 - In stroke play, a player's ball in a bunker moves due to his removal of a loose impediment in the bunker. He replaces the ball on its original spot. What is the ruling?

A - There is no penalty.

B - The player gets one penalty stroke.

C - The player gets two penalty strokes.

 

Question 3 - When, in a foursomes competition, a side is required to drop a ball, who may drop the ball?

A - Either of the partners.

B - Only the partner of the player whose turn it is to play.

C - Only the player whose turn it is to play.
:mizuno: ST200 10.5° with  Paderson Kinetixx Launch TP65+ D40
:mizuno: ST200 3TS (playing 16°) with Diamana BF (Blueboard) 70 Stiff
:srixon: ZU85 3h with an Accra TZ6 Hybrid M4 shaft
:ping: iBlades Green Dot 4-PW with Accra iSteel 115 Stiff +½"
:ping: Glide 2.0 Stealth Wedges 50°, 54° with KBS 610 125 S+ shafts +½"
:ping: Glide 3.0 58° Wedge with KBS 610 125 S+ shafts +½"
MannKrafted MA66 Tombstone neck custom putter
:bridgestone: Tour BXS

Offline Cols_Ears

  • Trade Count: (+18)
  • 3 Iron
  • ***
  • Posts: 3544
  • Thanks: 20
  • WHS Index: 4.8
Re: Lockdown Rules Quiz
« Reply #2 on: Apr 30, 2020, 11:09:18 »
Answers for Round 1

Question 1 - In stroke play, a player playing from the teeing area misses the ball completely. He pushes his tee farther into the ground and plays. What is the ruling?

A - The player gets two penalty strokes.

B - The player gets one penalty stroke.

C - There is no penalty.

Correct answer - C

Explanation: If the player's ball in play is in the teeing area after a stroke (such as a teed ball after a stroke that missed the ball) or after taking relief, the player may lift the ball without penalty and play the ball anywhere in the teeing area from a tee or the ground. (Rule 6.2b(6)) - Note - you still have to count the fresh air shot

 

Question 2 - In stroke play, a player's ball in a bunker moves due to his removal of a loose impediment in the bunker. He replaces the ball on its original spot. What is the ruling?

A - There is no penalty.

B - The player gets one penalty stroke.

C - The player gets two penalty strokes.

Correct answer - B

Explanation: As the moved ball was at rest in a location other than the putting green, the player gets one penalty stroke under Rule 9.4b. (See also Rule 15.1b). There is no penalty for moving the loose impediment (Rule 12.2a).

 

Question 3 - When, in a foursomes competition, a side is required to drop a ball, who may drop the ball?

A - Either of the partners.

B - Only the partner of the player whose turn it is to play.

C - Only the player whose turn it is to play.

Correct answer - A

Explanation: Either partner may take any allowed action for the side before the stroke is made, such as to mark the spot of the ball and lift, replace, drop and place the ball, no matter which partner's turn it is to play next for the side (Rule 22.2).
:mizuno: ST200 10.5° with  Paderson Kinetixx Launch TP65+ D40
:mizuno: ST200 3TS (playing 16°) with Diamana BF (Blueboard) 70 Stiff
:srixon: ZU85 3h with an Accra TZ6 Hybrid M4 shaft
:ping: iBlades Green Dot 4-PW with Accra iSteel 115 Stiff +½"
:ping: Glide 2.0 Stealth Wedges 50°, 54° with KBS 610 125 S+ shafts +½"
:ping: Glide 3.0 58° Wedge with KBS 610 125 S+ shafts +½"
MannKrafted MA66 Tombstone neck custom putter
:bridgestone: Tour BXS

Offline Cols_Ears

  • Trade Count: (+18)
  • 3 Iron
  • ***
  • Posts: 3544
  • Thanks: 20
  • WHS Index: 4.8
Re: Lockdown Rules Quiz
« Reply #3 on: Apr 30, 2020, 11:10:51 »
Round 2

Question 1

On the putting green, a player marks and lifts her ball. After replacing it correctly, a strong gust of wind causes the ball to move. The player must replace her ball on the original spot.

A – False

B – True

 

Question 2

In match play, a player's correct handicap is 11, but he mistakenly advises his opponent on the first tee that his handicap is 10. After his opponent hits her first tee shot, he realises his mistake. What is the ruling?

A - The player must play the match using a handicap of 11.

B - The player must play the match using a handicap of 10.

C - The player is disqualified.

 

Question 3

A player's ball lies in a hole made by a rabbit in a bunker. The player is entitled to free relief.

A - False

B - True
:mizuno: ST200 10.5° with  Paderson Kinetixx Launch TP65+ D40
:mizuno: ST200 3TS (playing 16°) with Diamana BF (Blueboard) 70 Stiff
:srixon: ZU85 3h with an Accra TZ6 Hybrid M4 shaft
:ping: iBlades Green Dot 4-PW with Accra iSteel 115 Stiff +½"
:ping: Glide 2.0 Stealth Wedges 50°, 54° with KBS 610 125 S+ shafts +½"
:ping: Glide 3.0 58° Wedge with KBS 610 125 S+ shafts +½"
MannKrafted MA66 Tombstone neck custom putter
:bridgestone: Tour BXS

Offline Cols_Ears

  • Trade Count: (+18)
  • 3 Iron
  • ***
  • Posts: 3544
  • Thanks: 20
  • WHS Index: 4.8
Re: Lockdown Rules Quiz
« Reply #4 on: May 04, 2020, 15:55:33 »
Rounds 2 Answers

Question 1

On the putting green, a player marks and lifts her ball. After replacing it correctly, a strong gust of wind causes the ball to move. The player must replace her ball on the original spot.

A – False
B – True

Correct answer B

Explanation: If a ball on the putting green moves after it has been lifted and replaced, the ball must be replaced on its original spot (Rule 9.3).

 

Question 2

In match play, a player's correct handicap is 11, but he mistakenly advises his opponent on the first tee that his handicap is 10. After his opponent hits her first tee shot, he realises his mistake. What is the ruling?

A - The player must play the match using a handicap of 11.
B - The player must play the match using a handicap of 10.
C - The player is disqualified.

Correct answer B

Explanation: If a player declares a wrong handicap and does not correct the mistake before the opponent makes a stroke, if the declared handicap is too low, there is no penalty and the player must play off the lower handicap (Rule 3.2c).

 

Question 3

A player's ball lies in a hole made by a rabbit in a bunker. The player is entitled to free relief.

A - False
B - True

Correct answer B

Explanation: A hole made by an animal is an abnormal course condition.
:mizuno: ST200 10.5° with  Paderson Kinetixx Launch TP65+ D40
:mizuno: ST200 3TS (playing 16°) with Diamana BF (Blueboard) 70 Stiff
:srixon: ZU85 3h with an Accra TZ6 Hybrid M4 shaft
:ping: iBlades Green Dot 4-PW with Accra iSteel 115 Stiff +½"
:ping: Glide 2.0 Stealth Wedges 50°, 54° with KBS 610 125 S+ shafts +½"
:ping: Glide 3.0 58° Wedge with KBS 610 125 S+ shafts +½"
MannKrafted MA66 Tombstone neck custom putter
:bridgestone: Tour BXS

Offline Cols_Ears

  • Trade Count: (+18)
  • 3 Iron
  • ***
  • Posts: 3544
  • Thanks: 20
  • WHS Index: 4.8
Re: Lockdown Rules Quiz
« Reply #5 on: May 04, 2020, 15:57:29 »
Round 3 Questions:

Question 1

A and B are partners in a foursome. Player A drives and there is doubt as to whether the ball is out of bounds or not. If the players decide to play a provisional ball, who must play it?

A - Player A
B - Player B
C - Either player may play the provisional.


Question 2

In a singles match, Player A has the honour on the 5th hole. He hits his ball towards some thick bushes and decides to play a provisional ball. What is the correct order of play?

A - Player A may choose to play his provisional ball either before or after Player B hits her tee shot.
B - Player A must play his provisional ball before Player B hits her tee shot.
C - Player A must play his provisional ball after Player B hits her tee shot.

 
Question 3

In stroke play, when playing out of a bad lie, a player accidentally hits the ball a second time (a ‘double hit’) on her follow through. What is the ruling?

A - The double hit counts as only one stroke and there is no penalty.
B - The double hit counts as one shot and the player gets an additional one stroke penalty.
C - The double hit counts as two shots but there is no additional penalty.
:mizuno: ST200 10.5° with  Paderson Kinetixx Launch TP65+ D40
:mizuno: ST200 3TS (playing 16°) with Diamana BF (Blueboard) 70 Stiff
:srixon: ZU85 3h with an Accra TZ6 Hybrid M4 shaft
:ping: iBlades Green Dot 4-PW with Accra iSteel 115 Stiff +½"
:ping: Glide 2.0 Stealth Wedges 50°, 54° with KBS 610 125 S+ shafts +½"
:ping: Glide 3.0 58° Wedge with KBS 610 125 S+ shafts +½"
MannKrafted MA66 Tombstone neck custom putter
:bridgestone: Tour BXS

Offline 3puttwizard

  • Administrator
  • Trade Count: (+24)
  • Driver
  • *****
  • Posts: 25435
  • Thanks: 145
Re: Lockdown Rules Quiz
« Reply #6 on: May 04, 2020, 22:03:42 »
A, C, A?

Not sure about 1st one. As it’s the third shot is it his shot again? Hmm.
WHS 12.9

M.6 10.5 Speeder Evo 661 X
M2 3HL Hzrdus Black
JPX 900 Forged 4-PW KBS X
Cally 47/52 wedges
SM6 58 M Grind
Rife Barbados
TP5x/Z Star XV

Offline Blofeld

  • Trade Count: (+35)
  • Driver
  • *****
  • Posts: 11405
  • Thanks: 61
  • Brett Vale G.C. Captain 2014 and 2020
Re: Lockdown Rules Quiz
« Reply #7 on: May 04, 2020, 23:30:13 »
A, C, A?

Not sure about 1st one. As it’s the third shot is it his shot again? Hmm.

Nah.Penalties don't "count" when determining which partner is to play next. Gets even worse in mixed foursomes as happened to me once when I topped  one off the white tee straight into water, my lady partner had to play our 3rd off the white tee with an immediate carry over 180 yds of wet stuff.

The hole didn't last long.
Callaway Rogue Driver 10.5* / Aldila Synergy 50 reg
Callaway Rogue 3-wood 15* / Aldila Synergy 60 reg
Callaway Rogue 5-wood 19* / Aldila Synergy 60 reg
Callaway Mavrik Heavenwood 20* / UST Helium 50 reg
Callaway Apex 4H 23* / Project X Catalyst 70 reg
Callaway Apex CF19 6-PW / TT Elevate 95 reg
Vega Alcor 50*, 54* & 58* / Shimada Wedge flex
Scotty Special Select Flowback 5

Offline Dick in Shorts

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • 3 Iron
  • ***
  • Posts: 3281
  • Thanks: 6
  • Inverurie GC
Re: Lockdown Rules Quiz
« Reply #8 on: May 05, 2020, 09:13:37 »
Provisional shots from the tee are quite interesting in Greensomes too
:ping: G400 SFT 12 deg driver
:ping: G400 SFT  5 wood
:ping: G400  4(22 deg) & 5(26) deg) Hybrids
:wilson: Staff D300 6 - PW
:titleist: SM6 50/54/58 deg
:scottycameron: Futura 5S
:vice: Pro Soft

Prize Money: 2010=£276  2011=£406 +2 bottles Malt Whisky 
 2012=£351 2013=£95 2014=£240 2015=£225 2016=£475
2017=£368 2018= £767 2019=£582 2020=£284

WHS HI: 12.1
Alliance H’cap: 13 >12

Offline Dick in Shorts

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • 3 Iron
  • ***
  • Posts: 3281
  • Thanks: 6
  • Inverurie GC
Re: Lockdown Rules Quiz
« Reply #9 on: May 05, 2020, 09:15:04 »
B A A
:ping: G400 SFT 12 deg driver
:ping: G400 SFT  5 wood
:ping: G400  4(22 deg) & 5(26) deg) Hybrids
:wilson: Staff D300 6 - PW
:titleist: SM6 50/54/58 deg
:scottycameron: Futura 5S
:vice: Pro Soft

Prize Money: 2010=£276  2011=£406 +2 bottles Malt Whisky 
 2012=£351 2013=£95 2014=£240 2015=£225 2016=£475
2017=£368 2018= £767 2019=£582 2020=£284

WHS HI: 12.1
Alliance H’cap: 13 >12

Offline Cols_Ears

  • Trade Count: (+18)
  • 3 Iron
  • ***
  • Posts: 3544
  • Thanks: 20
  • WHS Index: 4.8
Re: Lockdown Rules Quiz
« Reply #10 on: May 05, 2020, 10:23:44 »
I'd actually begun to think I was wasting my time posting these up, but as a few of you are at least reading and responding now them I'll keep going.

Round 3 Answers

Question 1

A and B are partners in a foursome. Player A drives and there is doubt as to whether the ball is out of bounds or not. If the players decide to play a provisional ball, who must play it?

A - Player A
B - Player B
C - Either player may play the provisional.

Correct answer B

Explanation: If the side decides to play a provisional ball, it must be played by the partner whose turn it is to play the side's next stroke (Rule 22.3).

 

Question 2

In a singles match, Player A has the honour on the 5th hole. He hits his ball towards some thick bushes and decides to play a provisional ball. What is the correct order of play?

A - Player A may choose to play his provisional ball either before or after Player B hits her tee shot.
B - Player A must play his provisional ball before Player B hits her tee shot.
C - Player A must play his provisional ball after Player B hits her tee shot.

Correct answer C

Explanation: When a player will play a provisional ball from the teeing area, the order of play is for all other players in the group to make their first stroke on the hole before the player plays the provisional ball (see Rule 6.4c).

 

Question 3

In stroke play, when playing out of a bad lie, a player accidentally hits the ball a second time (a ‘double hit’) on her follow through. What is the ruling?

A - The double hit counts as only one stroke and there is no penalty.
B - The double hit counts as one shot and the player gets an additional one stroke penalty.
C - The double hit counts as two shots but there is no additional penalty.

Correct answer A

Explanation: As per Rule 10.1a, if the player's club accidentally strikes the ball more than once, there has been only one stroke and there is no penalty

 
:mizuno: ST200 10.5° with  Paderson Kinetixx Launch TP65+ D40
:mizuno: ST200 3TS (playing 16°) with Diamana BF (Blueboard) 70 Stiff
:srixon: ZU85 3h with an Accra TZ6 Hybrid M4 shaft
:ping: iBlades Green Dot 4-PW with Accra iSteel 115 Stiff +½"
:ping: Glide 2.0 Stealth Wedges 50°, 54° with KBS 610 125 S+ shafts +½"
:ping: Glide 3.0 58° Wedge with KBS 610 125 S+ shafts +½"
MannKrafted MA66 Tombstone neck custom putter
:bridgestone: Tour BXS

Offline Cols_Ears

  • Trade Count: (+18)
  • 3 Iron
  • ***
  • Posts: 3544
  • Thanks: 20
  • WHS Index: 4.8
Re: Lockdown Rules Quiz
« Reply #11 on: May 05, 2020, 10:25:53 »
Round 4

Question 1

In stroke play, a player plays a left-handed stroke with the back of the head of a right-handed club. What is the ruling?

A - The player gets two penalty strokes.
B - There is no penalty.
C - The player gets one penalty stroke.

 
Question 2

In stroke play, a player removes a post defining out of bounds which interferes with his swing. What is the ruling?

A - There is no penalty whether or not he replaces the post.
B - The player gets two penalty strokes unless he replaces the post before making the stroke and eliminates the improvement by doing so.
C - The player gets two penalty strokes whether or not he replaces the post.


Question 3

A player is asked to lift his ball which lies just off the putting green as it is on her opponents line of play. He is allowed to clean the ball without penalty.

A - False
B - True


Question 4

Player B's ball was lying badly. B was deliberating what action to take when player A, his marker, said: "You have no shot at all. If I were you, I would declare the ball unplayable." What is the ruling?

A - As A's suggestion could have influenced B "in determining his play", it constituted advice and A is penalised two strokes.
B - A gave B information on the Rules and, hence, no penalty is incurred by either player. B is not penalised.
C - A is penalised two strokes for giving advice and, if B follows that advice, he too will incur a two stroke penalty.
:mizuno: ST200 10.5° with  Paderson Kinetixx Launch TP65+ D40
:mizuno: ST200 3TS (playing 16°) with Diamana BF (Blueboard) 70 Stiff
:srixon: ZU85 3h with an Accra TZ6 Hybrid M4 shaft
:ping: iBlades Green Dot 4-PW with Accra iSteel 115 Stiff +½"
:ping: Glide 2.0 Stealth Wedges 50°, 54° with KBS 610 125 S+ shafts +½"
:ping: Glide 3.0 58° Wedge with KBS 610 125 S+ shafts +½"
MannKrafted MA66 Tombstone neck custom putter
:bridgestone: Tour BXS

Offline Blofeld

  • Trade Count: (+35)
  • Driver
  • *****
  • Posts: 11405
  • Thanks: 61
  • Brett Vale G.C. Captain 2014 and 2020
Re: Lockdown Rules Quiz
« Reply #12 on: May 05, 2020, 10:31:27 »


In a singles match, Player A has the honour on the 5th hole. He hits his ball towards some thick bushes and decides to play a provisional ball. What is the correct order of play?

A - Player A may choose to play his provisional ball either before or after Player B hits her tee shot.
B - Player A must play his provisional ball before Player B hits her tee shot.
C - Player A must play his provisional ball after Player B hits her tee shot.

Correct answer C

Explanation: When a player will play a provisional ball from the teeing area, the order of play is for all other players in the group to make their first stroke on the hole before the player plays the provisional ball (see Rule 6.4c).


That's going to confuse an awful lot of people who might go and look this rule up...because there is no Rule 6.4c in the small "Players Edition" rule book that most golfers will be carrying. The book does tell you to look at the "Full Rules" for guidance on provisionals from the teeing area...but I know what most folk are like...they will see no rule 6.4c and think "well, if its not in the rule book then I must be able to do it".
Callaway Rogue Driver 10.5* / Aldila Synergy 50 reg
Callaway Rogue 3-wood 15* / Aldila Synergy 60 reg
Callaway Rogue 5-wood 19* / Aldila Synergy 60 reg
Callaway Mavrik Heavenwood 20* / UST Helium 50 reg
Callaway Apex 4H 23* / Project X Catalyst 70 reg
Callaway Apex CF19 6-PW / TT Elevate 95 reg
Vega Alcor 50*, 54* & 58* / Shimada Wedge flex
Scotty Special Select Flowback 5

Offline Dick in Shorts

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • 3 Iron
  • ***
  • Posts: 3281
  • Thanks: 6
  • Inverurie GC
Re: Lockdown Rules Quiz
« Reply #13 on: May 05, 2020, 17:23:29 »
Why doesn’t furthest from the hole play first - unless the ladies tee is behind the men’s?

Today
B
B
A
A
:ping: G400 SFT 12 deg driver
:ping: G400 SFT  5 wood
:ping: G400  4(22 deg) & 5(26) deg) Hybrids
:wilson: Staff D300 6 - PW
:titleist: SM6 50/54/58 deg
:scottycameron: Futura 5S
:vice: Pro Soft

Prize Money: 2010=£276  2011=£406 +2 bottles Malt Whisky 
 2012=£351 2013=£95 2014=£240 2015=£225 2016=£475
2017=£368 2018= £767 2019=£582 2020=£284

WHS HI: 12.1
Alliance H’cap: 13 >12

Offline Blofeld

  • Trade Count: (+35)
  • Driver
  • *****
  • Posts: 11405
  • Thanks: 61
  • Brett Vale G.C. Captain 2014 and 2020
Re: Lockdown Rules Quiz
« Reply #14 on: May 05, 2020, 18:33:25 »
B C A A
Callaway Rogue Driver 10.5* / Aldila Synergy 50 reg
Callaway Rogue 3-wood 15* / Aldila Synergy 60 reg
Callaway Rogue 5-wood 19* / Aldila Synergy 60 reg
Callaway Mavrik Heavenwood 20* / UST Helium 50 reg
Callaway Apex 4H 23* / Project X Catalyst 70 reg
Callaway Apex CF19 6-PW / TT Elevate 95 reg
Vega Alcor 50*, 54* & 58* / Shimada Wedge flex
Scotty Special Select Flowback 5

 

Recent