* *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Jan 26, 2021, 08:04:08

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Lockdown Rules Quiz  (Read 2699 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Dick in Shorts

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • 3 Iron
  • ***
  • Posts: 3281
  • Thanks: 6
  • Inverurie GC
Re: Lockdown Rules Quiz
« Reply #60 on: May 26, 2020, 13:39:30 »
In that case I’ll go

B C B
:ping: G400 SFT 12 deg driver
:ping: G400 SFT  5 wood
:ping: G400  4(22 deg) & 5(26) deg) Hybrids
:wilson: Staff D300 6 - PW
:titleist: SM6 50/54/58 deg
:scottycameron: Futura 5S
:vice: Pro Soft

Prize Money: 2010=£276  2011=£406 +2 bottles Malt Whisky 
 2012=£351 2013=£95 2014=£240 2015=£225 2016=£475
2017=£368 2018= £767 2019=£582 2020=£284

WHS HI: 12.1
Alliance H’cap: 13 >12

Offline srp973

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • 3 Iron
  • ***
  • Posts: 3089
  • Thanks: 22
    • Home Club - Ashton-on-Mersey, Manchester
Re: Lockdown Rules Quiz
« Reply #61 on: May 27, 2020, 12:19:16 »
CCA
WITB
Callaway XR Speed 10.5 T800 Blue Stiff
Callaway XR Speed 3 wood T800 Blue Reg
Adam Pro-Mini 18
Mizuno JPX 900 Hot Metal 4-PW with Graphite Project X 6.0LZ
Cleveland 48 Black
Mizuno Tp-5 Black 54 & 60
Nike Method
Mizuno Pro Cart Bag with Motocaddy M3 Pro
Titleist ProV1
Footjoy BOA FlexiTwist

Handicap 2018 - 7.5 and upward.......and upward........

Offline 3puttwizard

  • Administrator
  • Trade Count: (+24)
  • Driver
  • *****
  • Posts: 25435
  • Thanks: 145
Re: Lockdown Rules Quiz
« Reply #62 on: May 27, 2020, 17:51:52 »
BC, not sure about the last one
WHS 12.9

M.6 10.5 Speeder Evo 661 X
M2 3HL Hzrdus Black
JPX 900 Forged 4-PW KBS X
Cally 47/52 wedges
SM6 58 M Grind
Rife Barbados
TP5x/Z Star XV

Offline Cols_Ears

  • Trade Count: (+18)
  • 3 Iron
  • ***
  • Posts: 3544
  • Thanks: 20
  • WHS Index: 4.8
Re: Lockdown Rules Quiz
« Reply #63 on: May 29, 2020, 11:30:36 »
Round 11 - Answers

Well done to those who got the answers correct, we were looking for: BCA

Question 1

On the fourteenth hole of a stroke play competition, a player uses his distance measuring device before he hits second shot and then again before his third shot. The device had the ability to make an adjustment for slope and this was turned on. What is the ruling?

A - The player gets two penalty strokes.
B - The player is disqualified.
C - The player gets four penalty strokes.

Correct answer B

Explanation: A player may get information on distance or direction from a distance measuring device, however such a device must not be used to measure elevation changes (slope). As the player used the device on two separate occasions he would be disqualified (Rule 4.3).


Question 2

In stroke play, a player's ball comes to rest on a gravel surfaced road. He is entitled to relief from the road but decides to play the ball as it lies. He removes some gravel that might interfere with his stroke. What is the ruling?

A - The player gets a penalty of two strokes.
B - The player gets a penalty of one stroke.
C - There is no penalty.

Correct answer C

Explanation: Gravel is a loose impediment and a player may remove loose impediments without penalty anywhere on the course under Rule 15.1.

 
Question 3

A tee that is four and a half inches long conforms to the Rules.

A - False
B - True

Correct answer A

Explanation: A tee must be no longer than four inches long.
:mizuno: ST200 10.5° with  Paderson Kinetixx Launch TP65+ D40
:mizuno: ST200 3TS (playing 16°) with Diamana BF (Blueboard) 70 Stiff
:srixon: ZU85 3h with an Accra TZ6 Hybrid M4 shaft
:ping: iBlades Green Dot 4-PW with Accra iSteel 115 Stiff +½"
:ping: Glide 2.0 Stealth Wedges 50°, 54° with KBS 610 125 S+ shafts +½"
:ping: Glide 3.0 58° Wedge with KBS 610 125 S+ shafts +½"
MannKrafted MA66 Tombstone neck custom putter
:bridgestone: Tour BXS

Offline Cols_Ears

  • Trade Count: (+18)
  • 3 Iron
  • ***
  • Posts: 3544
  • Thanks: 20
  • WHS Index: 4.8
Re: Lockdown Rules Quiz
« Reply #64 on: May 29, 2020, 11:33:01 »
Round 12

Question 1

In stroke play, player A looks into player B's bag without touching or moving anything to see which club B used for his last stroke. What is the ruling?

A - There is no penalty.
B - A is disqualified.
C - A gets a penalty of two strokes.

 
Question 2

In a match between A and B, A has played 3 strokes and B has holed out for 4. A putts and her ball apparently comes to rest, but is overhanging the hole. After only five seconds, B picks up A's ball to return it to her. What is the ruling?

A - B wins the hole.
B - The hole is tied.
C - A wins the hole.

 
Question 3

In stroke play, a player plays a left-handed stroke with the back of the head of a right-handed club. What is the ruling?

A - There is no penalty.
B - The player gets two penalty strokes.
C - The player gets one penalty stroke.
:mizuno: ST200 10.5° with  Paderson Kinetixx Launch TP65+ D40
:mizuno: ST200 3TS (playing 16°) with Diamana BF (Blueboard) 70 Stiff
:srixon: ZU85 3h with an Accra TZ6 Hybrid M4 shaft
:ping: iBlades Green Dot 4-PW with Accra iSteel 115 Stiff +½"
:ping: Glide 2.0 Stealth Wedges 50°, 54° with KBS 610 125 S+ shafts +½"
:ping: Glide 3.0 58° Wedge with KBS 610 125 S+ shafts +½"
MannKrafted MA66 Tombstone neck custom putter
:bridgestone: Tour BXS

Offline Blofeld

  • Trade Count: (+35)
  • Driver
  • *****
  • Posts: 11405
  • Thanks: 61
  • Brett Vale G.C. Captain 2014 and 2020
Re: Lockdown Rules Quiz
« Reply #65 on: May 29, 2020, 14:59:09 »
ACA was my initial response but having had a look I know I've got one of my initial responses was wrong!!!
Callaway Rogue Driver 10.5* / Aldila Synergy 50 reg
Callaway Rogue 3-wood 15* / Aldila Synergy 60 reg
Callaway Rogue 5-wood 19* / Aldila Synergy 60 reg
Callaway Mavrik Heavenwood 20* / UST Helium 50 reg
Callaway Apex 4H 23* / Project X Catalyst 70 reg
Callaway Apex CF19 6-PW / TT Elevate 95 reg
Vega Alcor 50*, 54* & 58* / Shimada Wedge flex
Scotty Special Select Flowback 5

Offline Dick in Shorts

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • 3 Iron
  • ***
  • Posts: 3281
  • Thanks: 6
  • Inverurie GC
Re: Lockdown Rules Quiz
« Reply #66 on: May 29, 2020, 15:02:26 »
A A A

I was originally going to be same as Nick but thinking about it B didn’t have the right to pick up As ball
:ping: G400 SFT 12 deg driver
:ping: G400 SFT  5 wood
:ping: G400  4(22 deg) & 5(26) deg) Hybrids
:wilson: Staff D300 6 - PW
:titleist: SM6 50/54/58 deg
:scottycameron: Futura 5S
:vice: Pro Soft

Prize Money: 2010=£276  2011=£406 +2 bottles Malt Whisky 
 2012=£351 2013=£95 2014=£240 2015=£225 2016=£475
2017=£368 2018= £767 2019=£582 2020=£284

WHS HI: 12.1
Alliance H’cap: 13 >12

Offline Colin L

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Gap Wedge
  • *
  • Posts: 175
  • Thanks: 2
Re: Lockdown Rules Quiz
« Reply #67 on: May 29, 2020, 19:38:59 »
Evening All.  Hope you are well.
I've been following from a distance as it would be embarrassing to take part and make a mistake :)

You're thinking in the right direction, Dick, when you say B didn't have the right to touch his opponent's ball.  A's ball might have dropped but B has prevented that possibility.  In this situation, had it dropped A would have halved the hole.  On another day he might have been putting for the hole and been prevented from winning it.  The rule gives a fair outcome for A in either situation.

Offline Cols_Ears

  • Trade Count: (+18)
  • 3 Iron
  • ***
  • Posts: 3544
  • Thanks: 20
  • WHS Index: 4.8
Re: Lockdown Rules Quiz
« Reply #68 on: Jun 01, 2020, 10:31:15 »
Round 12 - The Answers

Question 1

In stroke play, player A looks into player B's bag without touching or moving anything to see which club B used for his last stroke. What is the ruling?

A - There is no penalty.
B - A is disqualified.
C - A gets a penalty of two strokes.

Correct answer - A

Explanation: Information obtained by observation is not advice.


Question 2

In a match between A and B, A has played 3 strokes and B has holed out for 4. A putts and her ball apparently comes to rest, but is overhanging the hole. After only five seconds, B picks up A's ball to return it to her. What is the ruling?

A - B wins the hole.
B - The hole is tied.
C - A wins the hole.

Correct answer - B

Explanation: As player B moved player A's ball before the 10 second waiting time in Rule 13.3a ended, the player's ball is treated as holed with the previous stroke, and there is no penalty to the opponent (Rule 13.3b).

 
Question 3

In stroke play, a player plays a left-handed stroke with the back of the head of a right-handed club. What is the ruling?

A - There is no penalty.
B - The player gets two penalty strokes.
C - The player gets one penalty stroke.

Correct answer - A

Explanation: The player must fairly strike at the ball with the head of the club (Rule 10.1a). Interpretation 10.1a/2 clarifies that in fairly striking a ball, any part of the clubhead may be used, including the toe, heel and back of the clubhead.
:mizuno: ST200 10.5° with  Paderson Kinetixx Launch TP65+ D40
:mizuno: ST200 3TS (playing 16°) with Diamana BF (Blueboard) 70 Stiff
:srixon: ZU85 3h with an Accra TZ6 Hybrid M4 shaft
:ping: iBlades Green Dot 4-PW with Accra iSteel 115 Stiff +½"
:ping: Glide 2.0 Stealth Wedges 50°, 54° with KBS 610 125 S+ shafts +½"
:ping: Glide 3.0 58° Wedge with KBS 610 125 S+ shafts +½"
MannKrafted MA66 Tombstone neck custom putter
:bridgestone: Tour BXS

 

Recent