* *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Nov 26, 2022, 12:17:26

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: A couple of rules queries from today.  (Read 461 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Keve

  • Trade Count: (+12)
  • Hybrid / 5 Wood
  • ****
  • Posts: 6650
  • Thanks: 35
A couple of rules queries from today.
« on: May 28, 2022, 19:23:55 »
I'll make this as short as I can.
Playing in a 4 player medal today. One of our group quit/NR'd
on the 9th but met up with us(minus clubs) on the 17th. Once the 3 of
us teed off he asked to have a hit with one guys driver, the guy agreed
and he hit a drive. I told him he could no longer use that club or
he would incur a penalty, I was told I was talking b******s but I'm
sure it came up before. Was I correct?

The next one is mine, I'm playing for the team tomorrow and I'm on the cusp of being too low to play but today's medal was a matchplay qualifier that I really want to play in. I've been watching the live leaderboard and knew all I needed was a net 70 to qualify, a 68 would put me out of the team and a 69 I would be sweating not knowing.
I had a great front 9, starting birdie birdie, so I knew what I need to score on the back, I hit my number bang on, net 70. Qualified and kept my place in the team, I'm now being called a cheat. Obviously it's not nice but it's not cheating.

Offline Blofeld

  • Trade Count: (+36)
  • Driver
  • *****
  • Posts: 11730
  • Thanks: 64
  • Brett Vale G.C. Captain 2014 and 2020
Re: A couple of rules queries from today.
« Reply #1 on: May 29, 2022, 09:50:09 »
Sorry...there is no restriction on a player continuing to use one of his own clubs that another player has had a hit with.

In any case, the restriction on sharing clubs only applies to shots which will count towards a players score....it does not apply to practise strokes.

Unfortunately you wont find this in the small pocket rule book that most players carry. There is wording that has been omitted in rule 4.1c but does appear in the "full rules" book and in the R&A rules mobile app.

In the second case...I take it that effectively you are being accused of not trying to make the best possible score? That's a difficult one to prove!!!!
Callaway Rogue ST Max LS 9* / Mitsubishi Tensei Blue 55 reg
Callaway Rogue ST LS 3-wood 15* / Mitsubishi Tensei Blue 65 reg
Callaway Rogue 5-wood 18* / Aldila Synergy 60 reg
Callaway Apex Utility Wood 21* / Project X Hzrdus Smoke 70 5.5
Callaway Apex (2016) 4H 20* / Mitsubishi Kuro Kage 80g reg
Callaway Apex (2016) 5H 23* / Mitsubishi Kuro Kage 80g reg
Callaway Apex CF19 6-AW / TT Elevate 95 reg
Vega Alcor 54* & Vega VWY 60* / Shimada Wedge flex
L.A.B. Directed Force 2.1

Offline Keve

  • Trade Count: (+12)
  • Hybrid / 5 Wood
  • ****
  • Posts: 6650
  • Thanks: 35
A couple of rules queries from today.
« Reply #2 on: May 29, 2022, 10:12:55 »
I read the rule as if a player uses another players club then that club must be taken out of play.

Sent from my SM-S906B using Tapatalk


Offline Blofeld

  • Trade Count: (+36)
  • Driver
  • *****
  • Posts: 11730
  • Thanks: 64
  • Brett Vale G.C. Captain 2014 and 2020
Re: A couple of rules queries from today.
« Reply #3 on: May 29, 2022, 11:03:07 »
I read the rule as if a player uses another players club then that club must be taken out of play.

Sent from my SM-S906B using Tapatalk

Yes the club should be taken out of play...but it is only out of play for the player that made the stroke. It is not out of play for the player who's club it is.

Rule Procedure for Taking Clubs Out of Play
During Round. When a player becomes aware during a round that he or she is in breach of Rule 4.1b(1), (2) or (3) for having more than 14 clubs or for making a stroke with another player’s club, the player must immediately take an action that clearly indicates each club that is being taken out of play.
This may be done either by:

Declaring this to the opponent in match play or the marker or another player in the group in stroke play, or

Taking some other clear action (such as turning the club upside down in the bag, placing it on the floor of the golf cart or giving the club to another person).

The player must not make a stroke for the rest of the round with any club taken out of play.

If a club taken out of play is another player’s club, that other player may continue to use the club.

(Colour/Emphasis is mine)

But still, the situation stands that the rule ONLY applies if the stroke made was going to contribute to a players score. It does not apply to what was effectively a "practise stroke".
« Last Edit: May 29, 2022, 11:09:16 by Blofeld »
Callaway Rogue ST Max LS 9* / Mitsubishi Tensei Blue 55 reg
Callaway Rogue ST LS 3-wood 15* / Mitsubishi Tensei Blue 65 reg
Callaway Rogue 5-wood 18* / Aldila Synergy 60 reg
Callaway Apex Utility Wood 21* / Project X Hzrdus Smoke 70 5.5
Callaway Apex (2016) 4H 20* / Mitsubishi Kuro Kage 80g reg
Callaway Apex (2016) 5H 23* / Mitsubishi Kuro Kage 80g reg
Callaway Apex CF19 6-AW / TT Elevate 95 reg
Vega Alcor 54* & Vega VWY 60* / Shimada Wedge flex
L.A.B. Directed Force 2.1

Offline Keve

  • Trade Count: (+12)
  • Hybrid / 5 Wood
  • ****
  • Posts: 6650
  • Thanks: 35
A couple of rules queries from today.
« Reply #4 on: May 29, 2022, 17:36:47 »
Cheers for clearing it up Nick.

Sent from my SM-S906B using Tapatalk


 

Recent