* *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Aug 18, 2022, 18:54:50

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Rules Question - and I've checked the Decisions already...  (Read 314 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Cols_Ears

  • Trade Count: (+18)
  • 3 Iron
  • ***
  • Posts: 3708
  • Thanks: 21
  • WHS Index: 4.1
Right then rules experts...

Had a strange one today when playing in the stableford. Was playing the 17th, and caught one a bit low off the face, sending it straight forward but scaring the worms. It then struck the metal upright of the post holding the rope keeping people away from the back of the 16th green, the ball was deflected 90 degrees to the left into the thick rough never to be seen again. I have to say this was a new one to me - never seen it happen or heard of it happening before.
One of the guys I was playing with immediately suggested that as the path of the ball was deflected by a Temporary Immovable (as defined by the committee) Obstruction the shot should be replayed without penalty. I was unsure on the rule so completed the hole with the second ball, as the first was lost, in either 6 if the shot should have been replayed or 8 if it should just have been treated as "ball played as it lies".

There was no consensus in the clubhouse (despite asking lots of experienced golfers and the club chairman) and I couldn't find anything on the rules app. So entered it as an 8.

Asked the Pro this eveing and he reckon's it's play the ball as it lies, so 8 is correct, but I'm still waiting to understand why...
:taylormade: SIM2 (playing 10.5°) with Tensei AV Raw Blue 60S
:mizuno: ST200 3TS (playing 15.75°) with Diamana BF (Blueboard) 70 Stiff
:taylormade: SIM2 Rescue 3 Hybrid with an Accra TZ6 Hybrid M4 Stiff
:ping: iBlades Green Dot 4-6 with Accra iSeries Steel 115 Stiff +½"
:ping: Blueprints Green Dot 7-W with Accra iSeries Steel 115 Stiff +3/4"
:taylormade: MG3 wedges 50°, 54° & 58° SB with KBS 610 125 S+ +½"
:ping: PLD Prime Tyne4
:bridgestone: TourB XS

Offline Dick in Shorts

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • 3 Iron
  • ***
  • Posts: 3658
  • Thanks: 6
  • Inverurie GC
Re: Rules Question - and I've checked the Decisions already...
« Reply #1 on: Jan 10, 2022, 08:50:44 »
I don’t think you get any help from the rules if you hit a TIO.

It’s a bit like the pros hitting a camera post or grandstand - think McDowell hitting the grandstand behind a green and ending up very close to the hole.

The fact you lost the ball is unfortunate but if it hadn’t been lost you would have played it as it lies.

Nb - this is based on the fact that a TIO is treated the same as an IO
:ping: G400 SFT 12 deg driver
:ping: G400 SFT  5 wood
:ping: G400  4(22 deg) & 5(26) deg) Hybrids
:wilson: Staff D300 6 - PW
:titleist: SM6 50/54/58 deg
:scottycameron: Futura 5S
:vice: Tour

Prize Money: 2010=£276  2011=£406 +2 bottles Malt Whisky 
 2012=£351 2013=£95 2014=£240 2015=£225 2016=£475
2017=£368 2018= £767 2019=£582 2020=£284 2021=£105
2022=£243

2021 WHS HI: 12.1>10.8>15.2
2022 WHS HI: 15.2>14.8>15.1>14.9>14.6>14.5>14.2>14.0>
13.4>13.1>13.2>13.6>13.4>13.5>14.3>14.1>14.6>15.2>
13.0>12.7>13.0>12.5>12.2>11.7>11.0>10.9>10.3>10.0>
9.8

2022 Buchan Tour HC: 15

2022: winners Alford Mixed G’somes

Offline Blofeld

  • Trade Count: (+36)
  • Driver
  • *****
  • Posts: 11707
  • Thanks: 64
  • Brett Vale G.C. Captain 2014 and 2020
Re: Rules Question - and I've checked the Decisions already...
« Reply #2 on: Jan 10, 2022, 09:48:57 »
Whilst there may be a local rule in place allowing relief from either line of site interference or interference with the stroke by a TIO, in all other respects the TIO is treated just like any other artificial object or obstruction.

I would say that Rule 11.1 covers your situation. 11.1b specifically refers to a ball in motion hitting an outside influence (and in the definitions an "outside influence" includes any natural or artificial object...and your TIO is artificial.....its temporary status does not change this...it is just like hitting any other obstruction)

https://www.usga.org/content/usga/home-page/rules/rules-2019/rules-of-golf/rule-11.html
Callaway Rogue ST Max LS 9* / Mitsubishi Tensei Blue 55 reg
Callaway Rogue ST LS 3-wood 15* / Mitsubishi Tensei Blue 65 reg
Callaway Rogue 5-wood 18* / Aldila Synergy 60 reg
Callaway Apex Utility Wood 21* / Project X Hzrdus Smoke 70 5.5
Callaway Apex (2016) 4H 20* / Mitsubishi Kuro Kage 80g reg
Callaway Apex (2016) 5H 23* / Mitsubishi Kuro Kage 80g reg
Callaway Apex CF19 6-AW / TT Elevate 95 reg
Vega Alcor 54* & Vega VWY 60* / Shimada Wedge flex
L.A.B. Directed Force 2.1

Offline Cols_Ears

  • Trade Count: (+18)
  • 3 Iron
  • ***
  • Posts: 3708
  • Thanks: 21
  • WHS Index: 4.1
Re: Rules Question - and I've checked the Decisions already...
« Reply #3 on: Jan 10, 2022, 14:02:59 »
Thanks Gents - I had come to the same conclusion myself yesterday about 11.1b, but then the Club Chairman said he thought it should be replayed (similar to when you hit a powerline) as it wasn't a permanent piece of course equipment (such as a tee block or marker post) it seemed unfair to be penalised for hitting such a perfect stinger  :lol: :picard:
:taylormade: SIM2 (playing 10.5°) with Tensei AV Raw Blue 60S
:mizuno: ST200 3TS (playing 15.75°) with Diamana BF (Blueboard) 70 Stiff
:taylormade: SIM2 Rescue 3 Hybrid with an Accra TZ6 Hybrid M4 Stiff
:ping: iBlades Green Dot 4-6 with Accra iSeries Steel 115 Stiff +½"
:ping: Blueprints Green Dot 7-W with Accra iSeries Steel 115 Stiff +3/4"
:taylormade: MG3 wedges 50°, 54° & 58° SB with KBS 610 125 S+ +½"
:ping: PLD Prime Tyne4
:bridgestone: TourB XS

 

Recent