ModSquadGolf
ModSquadGolf
Welcome,
Guest
. Please
login
or
register
.
1 Hour
1 Day
1 Week
1 Month
Forever
Login with username, password and session length
News:
Home
Forum
Help
TinyPortal
Chat
Login
Register
ModSquadGolf
»
Play
»
Rules & Regulations
»
Rules Question - and I've checked the Decisions already...
User
Welcome,
Guest
. Please
login
or
register
.
Aug 18, 2022, 18:54:50
1 Hour
1 Day
1 Week
1 Month
Forever
Login with username, password and session length
« previous
next »
Print
Pages: [
1
]
Go Down
Author
Topic: Rules Question - and I've checked the Decisions already... (Read 314 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Cols_Ears
Trade Count:
(
+18
)
3 Iron
Posts: 3708
Thanks: 21
WHS Index: 4.1
Rules Question - and I've checked the Decisions already...
«
on:
Jan 09, 2022, 22:44:16 »
Right then rules experts...
Had a strange one today when playing in the stableford. Was playing the 17th, and caught one a bit low off the face, sending it straight forward but scaring the worms. It then struck the metal upright of the post holding the rope keeping people away from the back of the 16th green, the ball was deflected 90 degrees to the left into the thick rough never to be seen again. I have to say this was a new one to me - never seen it happen or heard of it happening before.
One of the guys I was playing with immediately suggested that as the path of the ball was deflected by a Temporary Immovable (as defined by the committee) Obstruction the shot should be replayed without penalty. I was unsure on the rule so completed the hole with the second ball, as the first was lost, in either 6 if the shot should have been replayed or 8 if it should just have been treated as "ball played as it lies".
There was no consensus in the clubhouse (despite asking lots of experienced golfers and the club chairman) and I couldn't find anything on the rules app. So entered it as an 8.
Asked the Pro this eveing and he reckon's it's play the ball as it lies, so 8 is correct, but I'm still waiting to understand why...
Logged
SIM2 (playing 10.5°) with Tensei AV Raw Blue 60S
ST200 3TS (playing 15.75°) with Diamana BF (Blueboard) 70 Stiff
SIM2 Rescue 3 Hybrid with an Accra TZ6 Hybrid M4 Stiff
iBlades Green Dot 4-6 with Accra iSeries Steel 115 Stiff +½"
Blueprints Green Dot 7-W with Accra iSeries Steel 115 Stiff +3/4"
MG3 wedges 50°, 54° & 58° SB with KBS 610 125 S+ +½"
PLD Prime Tyne4
TourB XS
Dick in Shorts
Trade Count:
(
+3
)
3 Iron
Posts: 3658
Thanks: 6
Inverurie GC
Re: Rules Question - and I've checked the Decisions already...
«
Reply #1 on:
Jan 10, 2022, 08:50:44 »
I don’t think you get any help from the rules if you hit a TIO.
It’s a bit like the pros hitting a camera post or grandstand - think McDowell hitting the grandstand behind a green and ending up very close to the hole.
The fact you lost the ball is unfortunate but if it hadn’t been lost you would have played it as it lies.
Nb - this is based on the fact that a TIO is treated the same as an IO
Logged
G400 SFT 12 deg driver
G400 SFT 5 wood
G400 4(22 deg) & 5(26) deg) Hybrids
Staff D300 6 - PW
SM6 50/54/58 deg
Futura 5S
:vice: Tour
Prize Money: 2010=£276 2011=£406 +2 bottles Malt Whisky
2012=£351 2013=£95 2014=£240 2015=£225 2016=£475
2017=£368 2018= £767 2019=£582 2020=£284 2021=£105
2022=£243
2021 WHS HI: 12.1>10.8>15.2
2022 WHS HI: 15.2>14.8>15.1>14.9>14.6>14.5>14.2>14.0>
13.4>13.1>13.2>13.6>13.4>13.5>14.3>14.1>14.6>15.2>
13.0>12.7>13.0>12.5>12.2>11.7>11.0>10.9>10.3>10.0>
9.8
2022 Buchan Tour HC: 15
2022: winners Alford Mixed G’somes
Blofeld
Trade Count:
(
+36
)
Driver
Posts: 11707
Thanks: 64
Brett Vale G.C. Captain 2014 and 2020
Re: Rules Question - and I've checked the Decisions already...
«
Reply #2 on:
Jan 10, 2022, 09:48:57 »
Whilst there may be a local rule in place allowing relief from either line of site interference or interference with the stroke by a TIO, in all other respects the TIO is treated just like any other artificial object or obstruction.
I would say that Rule 11.1 covers your situation. 11.1b specifically refers to a ball in motion hitting an
outside influence
(and in the definitions an "outside influence" includes any natural or artificial object...and your TIO is artificial.....its temporary status does not change this...it is just like hitting any other obstruction)
https://www.usga.org/content/usga/home-page/rules/rules-2019/rules-of-golf/rule-11.html
Logged
Callaway Rogue ST Max LS 9* / Mitsubishi Tensei Blue 55 reg
Callaway Rogue ST LS 3-wood 15* / Mitsubishi Tensei Blue 65 reg
Callaway Rogue 5-wood 18* / Aldila Synergy 60 reg
Callaway Apex Utility Wood 21* / Project X Hzrdus Smoke 70 5.5
Callaway Apex (2016) 4H 20* / Mitsubishi Kuro Kage 80g reg
Callaway Apex (2016) 5H 23* / Mitsubishi Kuro Kage 80g reg
Callaway Apex CF19 6-AW / TT Elevate 95 reg
Vega Alcor 54* & Vega VWY 60* / Shimada Wedge flex
L.A.B. Directed Force 2.1
Cols_Ears
Trade Count:
(
+18
)
3 Iron
Posts: 3708
Thanks: 21
WHS Index: 4.1
Re: Rules Question - and I've checked the Decisions already...
«
Reply #3 on:
Jan 10, 2022, 14:02:59 »
Thanks Gents - I had come to the same conclusion myself yesterday about 11.1b, but then the Club Chairman said he thought it should be replayed (similar to when you hit a powerline) as it wasn't a permanent piece of course equipment (such as a tee block or marker post) it seemed unfair to be penalised for hitting such a perfect stinger
Logged
SIM2 (playing 10.5°) with Tensei AV Raw Blue 60S
ST200 3TS (playing 15.75°) with Diamana BF (Blueboard) 70 Stiff
SIM2 Rescue 3 Hybrid with an Accra TZ6 Hybrid M4 Stiff
iBlades Green Dot 4-6 with Accra iSeries Steel 115 Stiff +½"
Blueprints Green Dot 7-W with Accra iSeries Steel 115 Stiff +3/4"
MG3 wedges 50°, 54° & 58° SB with KBS 610 125 S+ +½"
PLD Prime Tyne4
TourB XS
Print
Pages: [
1
]
Go Up
« previous
next »
ModSquadGolf
»
Play
»
Rules & Regulations
»
Rules Question - and I've checked the Decisions already...
Recent
World Handicapping Scheme...
by
Blofeld
[Aug 16, 2022, 18:49:48]
LIV Golf
by
hotbaws
[Aug 04, 2022, 10:36:52]